Tuia 250 events

There are events happening now in regions right around the country as part of the Tuia - Encounters 250 national commemoration.

You can follow the Tuia 250 Voyage from October to December, and join the journey by experiencing the vessels onboard when they land. Crews are offering family-friendly opportunities to learn about Pacific, Māori, and European sailing and navigation traditions through interactive activities, displays, star domes, guest speakers, roadshow trucks and more.

You can find out more information about the Tuia 250 events on Eventfinder.

Tuia Mātauranga Roadshow event schedule

We will continue to update this schedule as we confirm more locations and finalise details.

Tūranga-nui-a-Kiwa - Gisborne
Gisborne Inner Harbour
Sunday 6 & Wednesday 9 October
Open 10 am – 4 pm

Uawa - Tolaga
Reynolds Hall
Monday 14 October, 10 am - 2:30 pm*
Tuesday 15 October, 10 am - 1:30 pm*
*
Admission is free, but bookings are required - text Rāwinia Kingi on 021 247 1797 or email rawiniak@gmail.com to book your visit.

Tauranga
Masonic car park (behind Tauranga Art Gallery)
Thurs 17 Oct 9:30 am to 4:30 pm
Fri 18 Oct 9:30 am to 2:30 pm

Whitianga
Whitianga Car Park, The Esplanade
Saturday 19 & Sunday 20 October
Open 10 am – 4 pm

Tāmaki - Auckland
Te Wero Island at Auckland Viaduct, next to Maritime Museum
Saturday 26 to Monday 28 October, 10 am - 4 pm

Hokianga
Opononi iSite rear car park
Thursday 31 October, 9:30 am - 4 pm

Whangārei
Saturday 2 November at Hihiaua Peninsula, Lower Dent Street
Sunday 3 November at Port Nikau, Port Road
Open 10 am – 3 pm

Kaitaia
Te Ahu Centre
Friday 8 November
Open 9 am - 3 pm

Waitangi
Waitangi Sports Grounds, 1 Tau Henare Drive, Paihia
Saturday 9 November
Open 10 am – 4 pm

Opua
Opua Cruising Club, 8 Baffin St
Sunday 10 November
Open 10 am – 3 pm

Waipūreku - Clive
Ātea a Rangi Star Compass site, Waitangi Regional Park
Tuesday 12 & Wednesday 13 November
Open 9 am - 3 pm, and again from 5 pm - 8 pm, on both days

Porirua
Te Rauparaha Park
Friday 15 November, 9 am - 3 pm
Saturday 16 November, 10 am - 4 pm

Waitohi - Picton
Picton Marina
Saturday 23 & Sunday 24 November
Open 10 am – 4 pm

Te Whakaraupō - Lyttelton Harbour
Te Ana Marina Whakaraupō Harbour, Lyttelton
Saturday 7 & Sunday 8 December
Open 10 am – 4 pm

To be confirmed:

  • Tā Māwhera - Greymouth

  • Kaikoura

  • Ōtepoti - Dunedin

  • Te Oha o Maru - Oamaru

  • Waihōpai - Invercargill.